Thoughts For An Upcoming Trip

I am going on my first missions trip! Well….the first one out of the country. So I guess you can say a “real”missions trip. I am joining one of my favorite organizations and the place I call home Gleanings for the Hungry, also a YWAM base and teaming up with Mission of Grace and traveling to Haiti! I am beyond excited for this trip. Even though I will be the youngest going, the person who’s closest in age to me is 34. This should be interesting.

With this excitement comes a lot of fear. I have never been out of the country in all my 21 years of living. And this will be the furthest I have ever been from the safety of my home, but this wont be the longest I’ve been away from home.

This summer I was honored with being on Gleanings for the Hungry’s Summer Staff program. I lived at the base for six weeks while helping to run their peach processing plant. Gleanings during the summer takes peaches and process and dries them at their base in Dinuba, CA. I wish I could explain it further but this place is too amazing for words! I will provide links to their website at the end of this post. Seriously check them out!

Anyways..back to fears. I am also getting a variety of shots this upcoming Wednesday. I am due to 5 shots. Yes 5 shots and anti-Malaria medication that I might have to take (mosquitoes love me -_-). So that should be fun. Hoping there are no side affects as I have a youth outing that night as well as out Small Group Leader.

Also I’m worried for my passport coming in on time. I did expedite it but I’m still nervous it won’t be here by the time I leave. I’m also worried about our team. Most of the team is…well…old. Not like the parents are “old” type but some of these people were born a VERY long time ago.

But with this fear comes excitement when the Lord calls he knows what he’s doing!

May God Bless you all and Happy Holidays and a Merry Christmas!

Lauren

http://gleanings.org/

http://www.missionofgracehaiti.org/

 

 

Leave a Reply

