Haiti!

Wow its been a while! I would’ve posted sooner but life and work got the best of me! But I’m back!

This past January 20-30 I was in Haiti! Its still hard to believe that I actually went. But my time there was well spent and absolutely incredible. I’ve always wanted to leave the US and to travel the world but I never thought that this would be my first stop. I put a link at the bottom of the page to a video of me speaking about my time in Haiti at my churches Missions banquet, check it out!

I was terrified when we left for the airport, the last time I’d been on one was when I was still in elementary school.  So getting on a plane with a bunch of people I’d never met before was terrifying. But by the grace of God we made it safely!

We worked with Mission of Grace in Carries Haiti. They are a wondering organization run by the amazing Mrs. Lynn. She is such an incredible woman, whom I hope to be like some day. She’s full of God’s love and grace and shes a spitfire when it comes to running things and her personality, as well as a loving and welcoming person.

My favorite part of the trip had to be working with the children in the orphanage. They were so loving and all they wanted to do was to sit in your lap and have you hold them. At one point I had four kids on me at once. I love kids, they are my passion and a gift from God. I truly believe that children are my calling in life. They bring me so much joy and happiness.

One amazing thing that happened in Haiti, was God confirmed with me my calling in life. In the beginning of January  I went to Gleanings For the Hungry ,(The organization I went to Haiti with) to volunteer for the week. It was there that I received my call to go into missions and to be on staff at Gleanings . I was excited and happy but at the same time I questioned it. Was this really it? Who’s gonna support me? All these questions came to mind, but the one calming thought was ‘I get to quit my job’ It was probably the best thought ever. So one morning in Haiti I was laying in my bed looking at the ceiling and my roommate Margret asked, “Lauren do you feel as if you’re being called into missions?” And I answered her, ‘Yeah I do, why do you ask?’ And she said “I had a feeling you were”. And at this moment I knew it was God speaking through her confirming that this is what I’m supposed to do, this was my calling that I’d been looking for for 21 years.

So to recap it was amazing to be able to go and experience Haiti. I had the time of my life and I can’t wait to go back again. And I can’t wait to get into missions and see what God has next!

Link to the video of me speaking at my missions banquet:https://youtu.be/yIhRBwGm88M

If you have any questions or want to know more please feel free to contact me! I am more than happy to answer any of your questions!

May God Bless you!

Lauren IMG_6534

 

 

Leave a Reply

